This week’s meal plan

I seem to have lost my mojo for meal planning lately. I always do this after the school holidays, because I don’t plan anything on the school holidays. I am not naturally a planner, so it’s like time off for me. But, we are back to school, which means I need to get back into it.
I sat for an hour or so, googling different things. Family food, healthy dinner ideas etc, and I just couldn’t get inspired. So, I put it to my wonderful facebook community, who gave me some inspiration by sharing their own meals planned for the week.

I couldn’t use all the ideas, but I’m sure they will make an appearance in upcoming weeks! I have linked recipes in the plan which I use for inspiration (I rarely actually follow a recipe!).  What are you cooking this week? Feel free to share below as extra ideas are always helpful 🙂

Monday We are actually having leftovers tonight, as I have some beautiful slow cooked beef left from Saturday night. I sauteed some finely chopped onion in olive oil. I added diced beef (gravy beef, chuck steak etc would be perfect for this), brown it in the pan. Add spices, sat, pepper, ground cinnamon and ground cloves, add tomato passata or tomato paste, add some water. Pop the lid on and let it simmer on low for a few hours. This is a perfect slow cooker dish and is buttery soft if you have time to let it cook for 3-4hours (or even more!).  I served it with steamed basmati rice, which I also have leftover, and tonight I also have some cauliflower that I’ll use as ‘cauliflower rice’.

I will serve this with some spanakopita as I have some ricotta that needs using up. This will also be great for lunchbox additions on Tuesday. To make spanakopita, I basically put my ricotta in a bowl with any feta that I have on hand. The more feta you use, the saltier it will be. Add chopped raw spinach, leek or onion. Add a couple of eggs too. Combine the mixture properly, I use my hand for this, and either use filo pastry (butter between each layer) or puff pastry to wrap the cheese filling in. If you use puff pastry, try flouring the bench and roll it out a little bit thinner. It makes it taste homemade! Add some sesame seeds on top if you want and bake until the pastry is golden brown.

Tuesday Tuesdays are becoming my busy days now with after school basketball practise and I also have my neighbours daughter for a couple of hours, so I need to be organised and have something that doesn’t need too much prep, when we walk in the door just after 4.30. I thought tuna mornay was perfect for this night. It is a budget friendly dish that I can make ahaead of time, and squeeze lots of veggies into. Win-win! Served with a garden salad, this will be a delicious dinner 🙂

Wednesday Hubby requested gnocchi this week, and one of the fb suggestions was sundried tomato pasta bake. So, I thought I’d combine these ideas. Gnocchi with sundried tomato creamy sauce. I am reducing my night time carbs, so I’ll be serving my sauce with some steamed veggies, which will be a side for the rest of the family.

Thursday Another busy for me as I am out of the house for most of the day and then basketball game after school for Miss 10 and basketball training for Master 11. So, another slow cooker dish for tonight. A great budget friendly dish is slow cooker chicken drumsticks in a tomato passata sauce. Another great dish to load up with veggies, and served with rice or pasta. The linked recipe is for red meat, butI will sub in the drumsticks instead. Drumsticks are a perfect cut for slow cookers, as you get a great stock from the bones, and they are a cheap cut, so very budget friendly! Served with a plate of salad veggies.

 

Friday Fridays are Greek school night, so I try to make fridays a treat night as way of a bribe. I am thinking homemade hamburgers and oven baked wedges.

I hope you all have a wonderful week 🙂

 

One thought on “This week’s meal plan

  1. I totally agree – it’s so busy that it’s hard to meal plan at times! I love your idea wit the gnocchi. I often take a huge bowl of steamed veggies to work for lunch! It’s the best!! Great ideas – thanks for sharing! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

