Chocolate pumpkin brownies and this week’s meal plan

Pumpkin is a vegetable that my kids and husband are a bit resistant to. They only tolerate it in very small quantities (if at all), so I am always looking for ways to integrate (read:hide) it in different things I cook. ย There’s only so many vegful meatballs they’ll eat, so this week I turned to chocolate to help me out ๐Ÿ™‚

InstagramCapture_bcdae53f-067f-4a2e-bea4-92b3dd735355_jpg
Today, I am sharing a chocolate brownie recipe, which is loaded with pumpkin and the kids gobbled it up! It’s low in fat too (if you’re worried about that type of thing ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).


CHOCOLATE PUMPKIN BROWNIES

Ingredients:

2 cups (approx) cooked and pureed pumpkin *see notes

2 cups flour

1, 1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup cocoa

3 tsp baking powder

1,1/2 tsp baking soda

1 large egg

Method:

In a large bowl, mix together dry ingredients.

Add pumpkin and egg and stir until properly combined.

Pour mixture into a lined brownie tray and bake in a moderate oven for 20 mins or until cooked through.

Notes:ย 

*I cooked 500g of butternut pumpkin to get my 2 cups of puree

*I have made this with white wheat flour and wholemeal spelt flour and both worked well, although the wholemeal flour ones were a little bit dryer (as is most w/m baked goods)

*I used coconut sugar, but I think any sugar would work well

*vegan option: I have made this egg free also, by using a flax egg (1 tsp flax meal mixed with 1 tbs water)

If you like hiding vegetables in your kids sweet treats, check out some of my other recipes:

Pumpkin chocolate cake (dairy free, egg free)

Spinach Shrek cakes

Chocolate Zucchini cake

 

Now, onto this week’s meal plan…ย 

Once again, I am already thinking about the week ahead, we have quite a few after school activities this week, piano concert, dentist appointments and whatever else pops up last minute, so it’s always handy to know exactly what I’m cooking ahead of time. Here is my plan for the coming week, with links to recipes I’m inspired by ๐Ÿ™‚

Monday: Pesto pasta with chicken pieces. Side salad

 

Tuesday:ย Cauliflower patties with grilled fish and salad

Wednesday:ย  Minestrone soup

Thursday:ย Beef casserole with riceย 

Friday:ย Pies, using Thursday leftovers, plus minestrone soup leftovers

Some of you may wonder why I don’t plan for the weekend. We are usually out over the weekend or eat leftovers if we are home. If we are home without leftovers, we will often cook up some eggs or a toastie. ๐Ÿ™‚

Most sundays I will be posting my upcoming week’s meal plan, with recipe links. So if you would like these delivered straight to your inbox, feel free to sign up on the right side of the screen (on a computer) or at the bottom of the screen (mobile devises). Have a great week!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Chocolate pumpkin brownies and this week’s meal plan

  1. Oh those Cauliflower Patties look familiar ! Thanks so much for sharing xx I dont usually have pumpkin as i’m the only one who eats it in this house however i have been given a whole big one that might just get turned into brownies and if they dont eat it thats more brownies for me! win win ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great week and thanks for linking up for Sunday Brunch x

  2. Yum this sounds delicious. I’ve heard of mixing zucchini with chocolate but never before considered pumpkin. I love it! Unlike your kids and hubby, I’m a major pumpkin fan so this is definitely going on the to-do list.

      • Funny you say that you pulled some out for their lunch boxes cause Mariah asked me if she could have it for lunch at kindergarten and that was a big no. I would have gotten a big talk from the teacher. Maybe when she goes to Prep. If you have any other good recipes for kinder lunches please post them. Thanks xo

Leave a Reply

