Meal Planning for the week ahead

I’ve decided to start up a regular meal planning post on Sunday night. It will usually be a late post, as I don’t normally meal plan until kids are in bed and I’ve done what I need to do for the day. So, you know, probably 11pm ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

I feel bad about my lastย sooky-la-la postย . I have been thinking a lot about how I’ve been feeling, and what I need to do to turn this all around. Admittedly, 3 days away from the house, routine and the kids helped me relax, take some deep breaths, and get into the headspace I needed to be. Adelaide was fantastic, and I loved just walking around all day on my own, ducking into shops, stopping to look at buskers, and having a coffee whenever I wanted, without having to be here, there and everywhere all at once. I’m trying hard to stay in this positive headspace, and part of this is re-establising some sort of organisation around meal planning.

Now that I have 3 days of planned activities for Olivia, I’m out of the house a lot more, I need to have my meals planned so that I have the correct ingredients on hand and can quickly throw the meal together without staring blankly into the pantry or fridge wondering what to eat!

I like to write the meal plan out for the week so that the kids can see what to expect. There are no surprises when they get a bowl of vegetable soup etc. This way, they can see that there are days they will like what I’m cooking and days when they wont. I actually write mine out with pen and paper, I don’t know why, I find it easier than typing and saving it. I have a FREE meal plan printable hereย if you would like. I just file them away at the end of the week and pull them out later if I want to reuse them.

Another thing I have decided to start is online grocery shopping. This is a completely new thing for me, and I’ve only done 4 in total. So far, I have been very happy with the quality I have received, and best of all, I am saving money (I am a sucker for aisle marketing!) and not wasting my day getting to the shops, getting into the shops, shopping, loading onto the conveyer, loading back into the trolley, getting it home, unloading from the car, and puting it all away, with a toddler in tow. Now it gets delivered to my door, and sometimes even brought into my kitchen for me. All I have to do is put it away! So, meal planning has made this process a lot easier too. Here is my plan for the week:

Monday:

Roast beef with potatoes (white and sweet) and carrots. Plus side salad

Tuesday:

Ricotta and spinach cannelloni with napoli sauce and side salad

Wednesday:

Roast garlic and white bean soupย I actually blogged my recipe that I cooked HERE. It was really delicious and the kids all ate it happily ๐Ÿ™‚ Win!

Thursday:

Slow cooker chicken casserole with rice and steamed veg

Friday:

Leftovers

 

I base my choices on the time I will have to cook and which activities we have on after school. Sometimes I change the meal around last minute or make minor adjustments, but the meal is based on these basic ingredients. For example, I am toying with the idea of coating the chicken drumsticks in an almond meal and herb crumb and baking them, served with rice and steamed veg.

I have linked these ideas to online recipes (not mine) to give you an idea of what I’ll be doing, although I rarely follow recipes exactly, I use them for inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚

If you would like receive these weekly posts delivered into your inbox, remember to subscribe via the link on the right hand side of your screen (on the computer) or below (mobile devices) ๐Ÿ™‚

What are you cooking this week?

 

*disclaimer: I am not a nutritionist and I base my meals on what I feel is necessary for the health of my family. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

5 thoughts on “Meal Planning for the week ahead

  1. Thank you for your meal plan! I love the idea of meal planning but I’m not very good at it. You have inspired me. I currently have spinach and ricotta cannelloni in the oven! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  2. I’m terrible at meal planning ive tried so many times. I get to the day and think ohhh i dont feel like that what about this and then it all goes out the window. I do need to be a little more prepared for a couple of days when we are out later than usual so i am TRYING to make sure i have three out of seven meals a week organised and it has taken that last minute eeek whats for dinner when the kids are starving. Look forward to seeing what you come up with so i can get some inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for linking up with #sundaybrunch xx

Leave a Reply

