Leftover oatmeal muffins and life’s little detours

Thanks to the chilly Melbourne weather, we have been enjoying hot porridge (oatmeal) in the mornings for breakfast. Unfortunately, more often than not, we have leftovers, and until tonight, my chickens have been enjoying eating organic rolled oats, cooked in organic milk. Initially it didn’t bother me too much, but day after day, it felt far too wasteful.

So tonight, I decided to try making muffins using the leftovers, and it worked beautifully! I’ll pop the recipe below.

WP_20140508_002

Things have been quiet around here for a while now. I have been on vacation to Struggletown. It’s not a place I like to visit, sometimes, life just takes us on a detour I guess.

Miss Olivia, until recently has been an excellent sleeper. She has had a ‘blankie’ which has relaxed her and she as always fallen asleep easily, and generally, slept through. Leading up to Easter, I thought it was time to wash the blanket. Unfortunately, since then, she has decided it isn’t her ‘nani’ as she calls it, any more. We are having to sit with her to go to sleep, only to find she is finding her way into our bed during the night and taking up half the bed (right in the middle), while hubby and I hang off each side. During the day she throws stuff every where, and for some reason, I can’t seem to discipline her like I could the others. Maybe I’ve gone soft (or mad). Maybe I’m just too tired to deal with it. Hubby is much the same. We are sort of walking through life a little bit glassy eyed. It’s been a while since we’ve had a non sleeper, and I’ve got to say, I haven’t missed it!

My older two are at that pre-teen attitude  stage. It’s lots of fun. Yes, I’m joking.

Miss E is very frustrated because her little sister ruins all her things and her big sister wants her own space, so she runs around in her very high pitched voice, screaming at everyone.

Argh.

Although I am being a big sooky la-la, I am excited that in 2 weeks Hubby is going to Adelaide for a couple of days for work, and I get to go too. No kids! Woot! Woot! He has told me a few times he will be very busy and we won’t really get much time together, so I’ll be alone most of the time.

My bags were packed before he could start his next sentence!

It’s been nearly 7 years since we went away by ourselves anywhere, and I’ve got to say that it’s long overdue!

Ok, enough of my self pity drivel, on with the recipe!

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

LEFTOVER OATMEAL MUFFINS

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup of cooked oatmeal (porridge)

1/2 cup sugar (see notes)

1 egg

100g butter melted

1.5 cups spelt flour (see notes)

1 tsp heaped baking powder

1/2 cup chocolate chips (or fruit/seeds/nuts/coconut etc to taste)

1. In a bowl add all ingredients except the flour and baking powder.

2. Using a stick mixer, blend the ingredients into a into a nearly smooth consistency

3. Using a spatula, mix through the flour and baking powder. The mix should be quite thick

4. Bake in moderate oven for 30mins or until golden and cooked through

Makes 9 muffins

Notes:  I used brown sugar as that is what I had. However any sugar substitute  could be used, like honey or coconut sugar. I found half a cup just sweet enough with the chocolate chips. However, you may wish to increase the quantity slightly if you are putting in nuts or seeds.

I used white spelt flour. You could easily use wholemeal spelt, or standard wheat flour.

 

One thought on “Leftover oatmeal muffins and life’s little detours

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning for the week ahead | kids recipes and organised chaos

Leave a Reply

