It’s zucchini season! Lunch boxes and more…

It has been a busy week here, with kids starting a new year at school. It hasn’t taken long to get back into the old routine of menu planning and lunch box prepping.

I feel like this year will be different though. ย I am allowing myself a little bit of time just for me. The family schedule is filling up fast, but I am making sure that in there, there is some time for me to get back a little bit of sanity, to exercise a little bit and just take some deep breaths.

I have set myself a challenge, to exercise every day in February for 30 minutes. It may be a walk, or weights or pilates or a runย . So far, so good. Ok, so it’s only day 1, but whatever, as far as I’m concerned, I’m 100% on target! I’ll keep you posted how I am going!

And now onto cake… ๐Ÿ˜‰
3ed5277521601cf2c95ca1d14dbc1056

What does cake have to do with zucchini season I hear you ask. Well, it just so happens that I stumbled across a chocolate cake that is loaded with zucchini here. I was so excited, I had to make it straight away! It was delicious, and the kids all gave it the thumbs up!
CHOCOLATE ZUCCHINI SPELT CAKE
yes, really…
Ingredients:
2 and 1/2 cups ย spelt flour
1/2 cup cocoa/cacoa
2 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 and 1/2 tsp baking soda (bicarbonate soda)
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp chia seeds
3 tsp linseed meal
3/4 cup plus 2 tbs coconut oil melted
1 and 1/2 cups sugar (I used rapadura)
3 eggs
1 tbs vanilla
2 cups grated zucchini (leave skin on)
1/3 cup milk
Method:
1. Put all dry ingredients into a bowl and mix together.
V__4A52
2.Wet ingredients must be at room temperature for this cake to mix easily. If they are cold, the coconut oil will harden and make this cake a lot more difficult to mix together.
3. Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients and pour into a lined tin. (I used a 10″ round, you could use 2 loaf tins instead if you wished)
4. Bake in a moderate oven for 40 mins
InstagramCapture_e145eba7-8117-4b25-bde8-73978b433d2d_jpg
This will be making many appearances in up and coming lunch boxes! I have frozen half of this cake in pieces, ready to pop straight in ๐Ÿ™‚
LUNCHBOXES…
Last week I got a little bit distracted with trashy tv (a serious weakness of mine!), and kids’ routine, and didn’t end up blogging lunch boxes last week. So I thought I would add it in here and just make this a bumper post ๐Ÿ™‚
First day back to school, I asked the kids what they would like in their lunches and all of them agreed that they would like a ham and salad roll. Easy peasy. I added a nectarine, and orange wedges (which were frozen).
I also added to that, Naughty Naturopath’s anti-LCM bar that you can find the link to in last week’s Back-to-School recipe round up. My variations to her recipe were to use brown rice puffs (purchased from my local dry goods store), leave out the coconut (my kids have decided they are over coconut), and I added a couple of teaspoons of linseed meal. I put half the mix into the tray, then to the remaining mix, I added an extra tablespoon of coconut oil and a tablespoon of cocoa. I then added this on top of the other mixture in the tray and really squashed it all down so that it was quite compacted. This helps it to not crumble easily once cut. My kids absolutely loved these!
WP_20140128_002
Check out my instagram for other things I have been making from the back to school recipe round up!
12 thoughts on “It’s zucchini season! Lunch boxes and more…

  1. That cake looks amazing!
    The anti LCM bars are really cool. I love healthy lunchbox alternatives and I bet they are a lot cheaper to make than to buy too!

  2. I love chocolate and zucchini cake but i can never get it quite right. This looks like it turned out perfect. I love sonias anti LCMs i make a very very abridged version lol anything but the real thing huh.
    thanks so much for joining in Sunday Brunch. was great to have you join in see you next week xxx

  3. Pingback: Chocolate pumpkin brownies and this week’s meal plan | kids recipes and organised chaos

Leave a Reply

