It’s that time of the year again…

Everywhere I turn I see people getting overwhelmed with their busy schedules. To do lists are being written and re-written in the hope that some things can actually be achieved.  Ok, so I may be looking in the mirror when I say everywhere I look, but I know I’m not the only one struggling to hold everything together at the moment.

Recently I had a little melt down about the lack of ‘me time’ I was getting. Miss O (newly 2 years old), has been my best sleeper by far, but also my most demanding during the day. I have been, quite simply, exhausted.

During my meltdown, there were tears and frustrated stamping of feet. I told my husband how I was feeling, and he was wonderful. But he did point something out to me.

mother needs a breal{image source}

I had taken myself off the priority list. No one else had. I had gotten myself into a rut of being home all the time, not getting out and about, socializing or exercising. I was starting to snap at the kids when they had done nothing wrong.

Feeling frustrated and helpless, I cried. It just felt so hard! How do I do these things with this lively 2yo? The reality is, I’ve done it before. I did it when my older 3 were young and home with me. So now I have put on my big girl knickers and today was the first day of good, healthy eating and exercise in a very long time.

So, it’s that time of the year, commonly called the silly season, when it is easy to take ourselves off the priority list. Easy to meet everyone else’s needs but not our own. So I am putting the call out to all mothers to remember your own needs as the craziness gets crazier. Remember to take 5 minutes to just take a breath. Try to do something nice for yourself this week. Maybe book yourself a massage or manicure. What about a cleaner to lighten the load? Maybe just go outside, close your eyes and take a deep breath.

 

housewife saturday night   Wouldn’t it be nice to sit down and read a book?!

 

2 thoughts on “It’s that time of the year again…

Leave a Reply

