When life gets busy, bake muffins

Life has been crazy busy these last few weeks. I feel like I’ve been on some psychotic merry-go-round that is spinning out of control, I’m pretty sure there was a laughing clown there somewhere too. Thankfully, hubby seems to be getting better, and things are starting to settle back into some form of normality.

When things are out of control, as a mother, I find myself putting my own needs at the bottom of the list. This week, I made a promise to myself that I would start prioritizing my own needs a bit more and taking care of myself, as well as my family’s. So I’ve re-established an exercise routine (by golly my legs are sore today!), upped my water intake, and put aside some time to do things that make me happy. Like eating. Eating muffins. Healthy muffins. And then sharing the recipe with you so that we can all eat muffins together.

This last week, I was scrolling through blogs and recipe sites, looking for some healthy baked goods to have on hand, not just for myself, but the kids too (ok, mainly for me…), and I came across this blog which has some great recipes. It’s called clever muffin, and today’s recipes came from this site, with some slight variations made.

pumpkin muffin

Pumpkin, sundried tomato and spinach muffins, (naturally low fat)

I call these ‘naturally low fat’ because often, I come across low fat recipes, where ingredients like ‘light margarine’ and ‘fat-free milk’ are listed. I go out of my way not to eat these kinds of processed foods and would never choose to give them to my kids.

220g small cubed pumpkin raw
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup of baby spinach (I used silverbeet), chopped
3 tablespoons sunflower seeds kernels
40 grams semi sundried tomatoes
2 teaspoons wholegrain mustard
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
3/4 cup / 180 ml milk
2 cups flour (I used half spelt, half white)
4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

METHOD
Preheat oven to 405F / 200C and prepare 12 hole muffin tray with patty cases

Sprinkle the olive oil and some salt and pepper over the cubed pumpkin. Toss well and turn onto a baking sheet or roasting pan. Arrange in a single layer and bake for 15 – 25 minutes or until cooked through entirely. Set aside to cool.

In a large mixing bowl add the pumpkin, spinach, sunflower seeds, the semi sundried tomatoes, and mustard. Gently fold together.

In a separate bowl beat the eggs and milk together and add to the pumpkin mix.

Sift the flour and baking powder onto the pumpkin mix, top with the salt and some freshly ground black pepper and fold together just until the batter comes together, be careful not to over mix.

Spoon the mixture into the prepared pan, filling each hole 3/4 full.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the tops and sides of the muffins are golden, and the muffins have set completely. Let cool for a couple minutes then turn out onto a cooling rack.

Makes: 12 muffins. This recipe could easily become dairy free, by substituting the milk for quinoa milk, rice milk or soy milk.

raspberry loaf

Raspberry Loaf, naturally low fat

200g frozen raspberries
1, 1/2 cups plain flour (I used half spelf half white)
2/3 cup sugar (I used rapadura)
1 cup rolled oats (see note)
1, 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup milk
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup plain yoghurt (I used a mix of greek and natural)
2 eggs

Method

Preheat oven to 190 C. This was supposed to be a muffin recipe, but I got lazy and made a loaf. I think the muffins would work better, as it took a very long time to cook this right through, and as you can see, the top of the loaf was a little bit over cooked, so if you choose to make muffins, line a tray with patty cases.

Note: Original recipe called for quick oats, but I prefer to buy rolled oats, so I just whizzed up 1 cup of rolled oats in the food processor to make them much finer, it only took a minute or two.

Place flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl. Mix with a whisk.

Combine milk, vanilla, yoghurt and eggs in a bowl or jug. Stirring until well blended. Add wet ingredients to flour bowl, add oil and raspberries and mix with a wooden spoon until just combined.

Spoon into the prepared muffin tin and bake for 20-25 minutes or loaf tray for about 45 mins, until a skewer comes out clean and muffins/loaf are golden. Makes 12 muffins, or 1 loaf.

This recipe could also be made dairy free by substituting dairy free milk and dairy free coconut yoghurt into the recipe.

So now that we have shared a muffin or two together, I should probably go do some lunges or something… I wish I could outsource this kind of thing…

2 thoughts on “When life gets busy, bake muffins

Leave a Reply

