gluten free honey banana muffins and make your own paper cases

gf banana muffin cooked

It’s Sunday night, I look in the cupboard, I look in the fridge. Bleh. School lunch time again. I bought some bananas yesterday, that ended up under some heavy stuff – so now I have squashed bananas in my fruit bowl. Kids are turning up their noses at them, so I think the obvious. Banana muffins. I set to work pulling out ingredients then realized that I didn’t have any paper cases to put the batter in. No big deal, I could have greased and floured the tray, but that seemed like too much effort, and I thought this would be a great opportunity to show you how to make your own when you too, have run out.

glass Start with a glass upside down

paper cases 1 Cut squares of baking paper, roughly 20cm x 20cm for a half cup muffin tray. I didn’t measure the paper or anything, it doesn’t need to be perfect 🙂

paper cases 2Fold the paper over the glass

paper cases 3Mold the paper around the glass firmly with your hands (easier with two hands, but I needed the other one to take the pic!)

paper cases on tray Patty cases ready to be filled!

Gluten Free Honey Banana Muffins

I found the original recipe here, and loved the fact that it was already a low sugar recipe. This was not originally a gluten free recipe, but I had some gf flour and decided to try it out in this recipe plus a few teeny tweaks.

2 cups (300g) gluten free self-raising flour (or gluten SR flour)
1, 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup raw sugar or sugar of your choice
75g butter, melted
1/2 cup (125ml) milk
2 tbs honey
1 tsp vanilla essence
2 tsp white vinegar
2 – 3 eggs (I used 2 small eggs and 1 large egg)
1 cup mashed banana (I actually didn’t measure my mashed bananas but I used 2 large bananas)

Preheat oven to 180°C. Line muffin tray with paper cases.

Place flour, bicarbonate of soda, cinnamon and sugar into a large bowl.

Combine melted butter, milk, honey, vanilla, vinegar, eggs and mashed banana in a jug or bowl. My kids don’t like to have chunks of banana in their cakes, so I decided to use my stick blender to blend this mix until there was no banana chunks left.

Whisk the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients,  Spoon mixture into muffin pans. Bake for 20 minutes or until cooked through when tested with a skewer. Cool in pans for 5 minutes, turn onto a wire rack to cool. This made 15 medium to large muffins.

Notes: *These are not overly sweet muffins, perfect for school lunch boxes or breakfast muffins. *This recipe could easily be made in a thermomix by starting with the butter and adding the wet ingredients, then adding the dry mix. * If using gluten flour, remember not to over mix, as this makes the muffins ‘harder’. *You could easily reduce the sugar further and increase the honey if you wanted to.

eggs

My eggs straight from my parent’s farm 🙂

gf banana muffin tray cooked 2 Out of the oven and the house smells amaaaazing!!

cooked banana muffin I couldn’t resist eating one straight away!!

5 thoughts on “gluten free honey banana muffins and make your own paper cases

    • I don’t see why they wouldn’t Mel. In my experience, it’s always better to add a bit more ‘no-egg’ than the recipe calls for. So use 3-3 1/2 ‘no eggs’ for this recipe.
      Have you tried using flax eggs? You take 1 tbs of flax seed meal and mix with 2 tbs water per egg. Let it sit a couple of minutes and it will become gel-like. Apparently that is another option for egg replacement. M x

  1. Pingback: spinach shrek cake | kids recipes and organised chaos

Leave a Reply

