Gluten free tortilla recipe nom nom!

You know when  you have left dinner to the last minute, everyone is hungry, and you’re wondering what to put together for a meal? My fall back meal is wraps. I always have pita bread in the freezer, and will cut a heap of salad veg up, grate some cheese, pull out some deli meats, or leftover meat from a previous dinner, grate some cheese or open a tin of tuna – you get the idea. When we decided to try gluten free for hubby, I started struggling, as I realized just how often I was making it. I think probably once a week I made wraps of some form. I have looked at buying gluten free wraps, but the ingredient list was a little bit long for my liking, and I didn’t want to eat numbers just because we weren’t eating gluten.

Last week I managed to make a great batch of tortillas and wanted to share this recipe with you. Everyone loved them, and I hope you do too! I stored the couple of leftovers flat in the freezer (separated by cling wrap) and they defrosted well, but were best heated through a little. We don’t have a microwave, so I just heated it in the fry pan, but you could also zap them in the microwave for 20 secs if you wanted too. Another thing I thought they would be great for, is thin pizza bases. I would probably make 5 thicker bases instead of 6 thinner tortillas though.

A few things I wanted to note here, something I have found with gluten free baking is that it works best with a mixture of flours. I really like the combination of buckwheat and millet flours, and have them readily available to me. I think the millet flour could be easily replaced with besan flour (chickpea flour – a good source of protein too), or perhaps sourghan flour. Also, if there is a bitter taste to the tortilla, it could be that either the millet flour has turned rancid (apparently this can happen fairly quickly, so I buy smaller amounts regularly), or the tortilla hasn’t been cooked properly. Millet is bitter when raw.

Ok, on to the recipe…

Gluten Free Tortilla Recipe

makes 6 tortillas

Ingredients:

50g buckwheat flour

60g corn flour (from corn, not wheat)

120g millet flour

20g psyllium husk

1 cup water (temperature is irrelevant)

1-2 tbs oil of choice (I chose olive oil)

1 tsp salt

optional: You could also add a crushed garlic clove or herbs if you wanted to flavor the tortilla.

Method:

In a bowl, mix together all the ingredients. It will be a very wet mixture – almost like a thick paste. That’s fine.

Set aside for around an hour or so. You will see that the mixture has absorbed the extra moisture (that’s from the psyllium husk). It will still be a little bit wet, but will more closely resemble gluten bread dough.

Divide the dough into 6 even portions, and roll into balls on a dusted work area. I used corn flour for this. Roll out each ball until very thin.

Note: If you wanted to use this recipe for pizza bases, divide into 5 portions and make them a little bit thicker.

Heat a little bit of oil in a non stick pan and cook each tortilla on both sides until lightly browned.

I served ours with lettuce, grated carrot, sliced tomato, sliced avocado, grated cheese, natural yoghurt, and beans (recipe below). Yum yum yum!!

Also, the next day, I used a tortilla as a bread replacement for a toastie and it was fantastic!

GF flours All the flours ready to go

GF dough The mixture is very wet initially

gf dough balls After an hour or so, the moisture is absorbed by the psyllium husk, and the dough resembles gluten dough

rolling tortillas Starting to roll into a tortilla

rolled tortilla My tortilla is ready to cook

tortilla Success!

burrito dinner Dinner is ready to eat. Simple and delicious 😛

Vegetarian Burrito Beans recipe

I wanted to make something quick and easy tonight and vegetarian. So although heading towards paleo means that we shouldn’t be eating beans, tonight, I really wanted something filling and tasty, so I made burritos (well, my version anyway!) using tinned beans (again, I know it’s better to make your own, but tonight I wanted convenience 😉 )

Ingredients:

1 small onion, diced

1-2 cloves garlic crushed

420g tin 4  bean mix ( red kidney beans would be good too- you could really use any beans)

cumin

sumac (optional)

paprika

I didn’t measure spice amounts, just added the amount that smelt good!

chopped fresh coriander

Method

Start with a little drizzle of oil in a fry pan, add onion and garlic and sauté for a minute or two.

Add drained and rinsed beans and spices.

Using a potato masher, mash the beans slightly

Stir to combine. Once heated through, mix through the coriander. Take off the heat, and serve.

beans Not the prettiest thing around, but very tasty!

burrito nom nom, ready to roll up and eat 🙂

One thought on “Gluten free tortilla recipe nom nom!

  1. Pingback: School lunch ideas- My kids don’t like sandwiches | kids recipes and organised chaos

Leave a Reply

