What’s cooking Thursday? Simple marinades and dressings

It’s Thursday again! Is it just me, or are the weeks flying by?!

Today I am taking the kids to a local shopping centre where they have a moving dinosaur exhibition. I wouldn’t normally do this, as our general rule is to avoid crowded school holiday spots, but I promised the kids we would go, so going we are…

Tonight we have friends coming for dinner who eat a paleo diet. Add in no nightshades or goitrogens and I was stumped for a minute. I wish I could say that I came up with something wonderful and complicated, but I didn’t. The best part of the paleo life is that it is supposed to be simple. It’s all about enjoying good, simple food.  So tonight I am doing twice cooked roast vegetables (sweet potatoes, beetroot and white potatoes for those who can eat them – mainly the kids), mixed grill of organic chicken, lamb and beef served with a large lovely green salad loaded with fennel and carrots.

As you can see, you don’t need a recipe for this dinner, but I will give you my favourite marinades and dressings. I am always shocked to see all the complicated marinades (which often include adding sugar) that people use, or worse, they buy commercial marinades full of additives and flavor enhancers. Ewww, that’s just a quick way to ruin a good meal.

Before we go on, I should tell you (if you don’t already know), that most of my savoury dishes include plenty of garlic and a good pinch of salt. Everything tastes good with garlic and salt. If you don’t agree, we can no longer be friends. Sorry.

My favourite meat marinade is super simple and super tasty. You can use it easily on lamb, chicken, beef, pork, or fish. Lemon, crushed garlic, salt, dried oregano and a little drizzle of olive oil. Note: for the beef, I don’t add the lemon. You don’t need to marinate for ages either. I am rarely organized enough to marinate overnight, so marinating for an hour or two is usually all I manage. Or more often, I am marinating as hubby is starting the barbeque lol!

The salad dressing is another simple recipe.  Olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic, salt and glob of mustard. I found an organic mustard that is paleo friendly. It only has mustard seeds, organic apple cider vinegar and salt. You could use a standard mustard too if that’s all you have. I used to buy ground mustard seeds which is great to sprinkle a little bit into your dressing, as mustard is made using the ground seeds mixed with vinegar. The commercial ones also add sugar, salt and a whole heap of extra stuff that often isn’t necessary. It really isn’t hard to make your own, and mustard seed powder is readily available from your local supermarket, although if you can find the whole seeds and grind them yourself, obviously that’s better.

The roast vegetables, I’m actually going to boil first, so that I can roast them in less oil. Once nearly cooked through, I’ll put cumin, garlic, salt and olive oil, pop them in a tray in the oven to give them a lovely golden colour. I know that coconut oil is better for roasting, but I gotta say, olive oil just tastes better. Sorry.

For the white potato I won’t add the cumin.

They are bringing dessert, so that’s taken care of. If all else fails I have a few raw balls (recipe here and a few of yesterday’s biscuits left and some fruit, that’s fine 🙂

Once I’ve actually cooked dinner, I’ll post some photos for you if I get a chance. I hope you are all having a great day!

Marianne 🙂

6 thoughts on “What’s cooking Thursday? Simple marinades and dressings

  1. Great post find for me who’s hubby is now paleo. I too will try but am currently breast feeding our 3rd & might cry if I have to change my diet at all…! Your blog is great – thanks!

    • I totally understand about changing your diet when breastfeeding! I found my third the hardest because I had the two others and trying to be really strict when all you have time and energy for is toast. But I’ve got to say that I’m starting to find it easier, bit by bit, and I notice that when the kids eat what we are eating, they are less hungry and at me all the time for snacks. Good luck on your journey and thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

