Grain free, nut free, refined sugar free, dairy free biscuit recipe

Grain free, nut free, refined sugar free and dairy free biscuit recipe
Two weeks ago on my facebook page, I promised a grain free (and therefore gluten free), dairy free, nut free and refined sugar free biscuit. Then I hurt my back, and was so low on supplies, I couldn’t even play with the recipe. Today, I finally got to my dry goods supply store, so tonight, while Master B cooked the BBQ, I whipped up the biscuits and am now procrastinating cleaning my kitchen while I type up the recipe for you all. Ahhh, the things I do for you lovely people!

I wish I could say I came up with the recipe all on my own, but the inspiration came from sugar free kids website (http://www.sugarfreekids.com.au/easy-peasy-cookie-recipe/). These cookies are great, but they have oats in them, and although we aren’t completely grain free, I’m trying as much as possible to find more and more grain free recipes. So I tweaked this recipe slightly, as I didn’t want to put the orange in it either, and now, I think I have it sorted. Here’s the recipe…

Very Quick, Very Easy, Grain, Nut, Dairy and Refined Sugar free Biscuits (How’s that for a title?!)

1/2 cup desiccated coconut
1/2 cup sesame seeds
1/2 cup pumpkin seed (pepita) meal [if you can’t find this, I’m assuming you could make it by pulsing the seeds in a food processor]
1/2 cup pitted medjool dates (5 or 6) [you could use any dried fruit really, I have used sultanas successfully, but dates give a lovely caramel sweetness to the biscuits]
2 tbs boiled water
3 tbs coconut oil melted [you could sub in butter if you don’t need dairy free, both are really nice]

Pit the dates and pour the boiled water over them, let sit while you assemble your other ingredients
Put all the ingredients in your food processor (including dates and water) and pulse until it starts to glob together or forms a ball.
Using clean hands, roll into balls and flatten slightly. Put on lined oven tray and bake in moderate oven (180’C) for around 15 minutes, or until golden.

grain free biscuit recipe Another bad photo on my phone, one of these days ‘ll find my digital camera and charge it!

That’s it. How easy is that?!
Another variation I made was to make a mix of 1/4 cup dried cranberries and 1/4 cup sultanas, instead of the dates, and add also, 1 tbs raw cacao (or cocoa). I like the sourness of the cranberries mixed with the bitterness of the cacao. Hubby preferred the other ones though 🙂

choc grain free biscuit recipe Chocolate and cranberry version nom nom!

I hope you like these as much as I do!

Let me know if you try these and what you think of them! Also, if you are on facebook, feel free to like our page 😉 (link on the homepage)

8 thoughts on “Grain free, nut free, refined sugar free, dairy free biscuit recipe

  1. Pingback: What’s cooking Thursday? Simple marinades and dressings | kidsrecipesandorganisedchaos

  2. Pingback: Healthy Nutty Cookies – Mixed Grain, Nuts and Seeds | Eat with Namie

  3. Pingback: T4B041: Clean Thermomix Cookies Recipes - The 4 Blades

  4. Pingback: Healthy Nutty Cookies – Mixed Grain, Nuts and Seeds | Eatwithmeİstanbul

Leave a Reply

