Motherhood: A Sisterhood

Miss O is 20 months old, and hitting that wonderful age, where she has discovered the art of tantrums (learnt from her two big sisters who are experts!). It’s nothing major, actually it can, at times, be quite funny. But every now and then she gets them just right. She stops, drops to the floor and screams as loud as she can- oh, and always in a public space, a quiet shop, or somewhere that people just don’t want a screaming child.

Insert flustered mother here. The tantrum turns my cheeks red, as I try in my best ‘under control mummy’ voice to coax her off the floor.

These kinds of moments can bring out the best and the worst in people. Nearly always, another mother will walk past me, give me that reassuring look, a supportive smile or an encouraging word, often along the lines of, ‘Don’t worry, we’ve all been there’. These moments always fill me with happiness. It’s like motherhood puts us all together, on the same team, cheering each other on.

Of course there are times this doesn’t happen. I remember being at the supermarket with Master B when he was close to 18months (it was right before Miss C was born), and he wanted something he had seen. I wouldn’t get it for him, so of course he started crying, begging for said item. So here I am, heavily pregnant, with a screaming child. An elderly man walks past me and told me to shut my kid up. Um, nice. Call it hormones, exhaustion or shock, but tears streamed down my face as I finished my shopping.

As mothers (and fathers) our role is to do the best we can for our kids. For some that may mean bottle feeding, for some that will mean breast feeding for years. Some parents will work, some will stay home. Some won’t give their kids whatever they want at the shops. Instead of beating down our fellow mothers, let’s openly show our support for each other.

So, next time you are out, and you see a mother (or father) looking flustered, with a screaming child, remember we are all in this together, we are all trying to do the best we can for our kids. So give them a reassuring smile and an encouraging word, and help make that moment a little bit easier.

Motherhood sisterhood Photo credit: euphorialifedesignstudio.com/the-sisterhood-of-motherhood-you-are-mom-enough-there-is-no-conflict/

A side note: My kids are on school holidays so I won’t be doing the school lunch posts today or next Monday. I hope you are all having a wonderful Monday!

One thought on “Motherhood: A Sisterhood

Leave a Reply

