Mummy survival guide

Peppa Pig

Peppa Pig (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve had extra kids here today, and although the older kids were really good, Miss O was traumatizing her little friend, who spent much of the time crying to go home. Poor poppet! I felt terrible that my baby was being a big bully. I kept trying to separate them, but as always, what one has, the other wants. Finally, I resorted to TV for Miss O and gave her friend some toys to play with near me so that I could keep an eye on her. That’s survival tip 1. Resort to TV when necessary. I can see some parents throwing their hands in the air, shouting at me, no! But you know what, if Peppa Pig helps me and my sanity stay together, then Peppa Pig is my friend.

Tonight, once all toys had being packed away (and by away I meant thrown into the toy area), I swept the floor and mopped it quickly. By mopped I mean, throw a few wipes on the floor and use your feet to push them around over high traffic areas. That’s tip number 2. Cut corners if necessary. I’m not saying do this all the time. But with 4 kids (plus 3 extras today) I should be mopping every day. Aint no one got time for that!

Dinner tonight was simple. Very simple. Kids ate pasta (they are so sick of brown rice), with a tin of tuna emptied over it, and carrot sticks. Yep, that was it. Hubby ate leftover rice and meat with a cabbage salad (kids would have eaten this salad too, but I wasn’t organize early enough :/ ) That’s tip 3. Some days, tinned tuna pasta is necessary.

Get kids to do chores. Not just because it’s good for them to learn how to do things, but let’s face it, it’s irritating watching them sit on their butt’s while we pick up around them. If they are being particularly resistant, I give them the bigger jobs, for some reason, they prefer them to just picking stuff up. Meh, whatever works. That’s tip number 4. Outsource.

Finally, make sure that every single day, you have some mummy time. Whether it’s an extra long shower, or watching Dr Oz, or reading my awesome blog 😉 find something that helps pull the fragments of your sanity back together. For me, I love, at the end of the night, once kids are all asleep in bed, the kitchen is tidy, lunches are made, I make a cup of English Tea Shop herbal tea (this post is not sponsored – although, if you work for them and would like to sponsor me, I’d happily accept) and sit, with my feet up, watch something truly trashy, read some blogs or catch up on some facebook posts. Love it. So that’s tip 5, make sure that at some point of the day you do something nice for you.

What are your mummy survival tips?

2 thoughts on “Mummy survival guide

Leave a Reply

