Lovely, lazy, long weekend and a natural deodoriser

It was the long weekend here in Melbourne, Australia, thanks to the Queen’s birthday. For the first time in probably three months we actually had nothing planned. No kids sports, no birthday parties, no special celebrations. Nothing, nada, niente. What a luxury!

So, it was a pancake breakfast (made with almond meal and eggs – I don’t think I was hungry for the rest of the day!), relaxing morning, kids played on the trampoline, then played scrabble and I pottered around the house. We decided to take the kids to the movies to see Epic, which reminded me a bit of Avatar. The kids loved it and so did we. Of course I spent most of the time chasing Miss O up and down the stairs, which she thought was great fun!

On Monday, hubby and I decided to take the kids into Fed Square, in the city. After a bacon and eggs breakfast, we got ourselves ready to go out for the day. I got my mumma shiz on and cooked some brown rice, put on a slow cooker beef roast and even processed a cauliflower to make cauliflower ‘rice’.  Kids were dressed in clean(ish) clothes, faces were clean.  Some days I feel like I rock this housewife gig.

It takes 10 minutes of being in the city before my mumma pride started to take a dive. Calls of muuuum, I’m hungry! filled my ears. Didn’t we just eat?! I had forgotten to pack any snacks (seriously, you’d think after 4 kids I’d know better!) so after distracting the kids with a juggling. magic trick show, we went off to find some food for the kidlets. We managed to find somewhere that wasn’t going to empty our account, and ordered lunch for them. Of course, the poking, the pushing and the bickering began. So I do what every good mother does, and whipped out my phone and hooked the kids up with some peppa pig on youtube.

The rest of the afternoon was fairly hassle free, we wondered around looking at all the attractions, and came across this gorgeous crochet (or knitting – I can’t remember) table, where people could go and crochet together.

crochet nemos garden  This was the knitted Finding Nemo centerpiece.

I always forget how much I love being in the city. I wouldn’t want to live there, but I really love to visit. After some movenpick ice cream, and lazing in the sun, we decide to call it a day and head home. I get my mumma shiz back on when I walk into a house with a beautiful slow cooked roast. Oh yeah!

Fed Sq  This is a cart full of deck chairs for people to use if they want to laze around in the sun. We were lucky enough to have a gorgeous sunny afternoon in Melbourne, so Miss E made good use of these! 

 

I’ve been making a whole lot of casseroles and soups now that we are in this gorgeous wintery weather, and today, after being out of the house for the morning getting blood tests, I noticed that the house needed freshening up. We are building a new deck outside our kitchen area, so the noise of drilling meant that I didn’t want to open the doors or windows. Instead, I decided to put a saucepan of cloves and cinnamon sticks on to simmer and fill the house with that gorgeous aroma. Such a beautiful, warming smell, and later, I’ll drink it as tea with a spoon of honey in it to add a bit of sweetness.

What did you get up to over the long weekend?

Leave a Reply

