Frantic cleaning, orange cake and Gatsby

If you read my post yesterday you will know that last night I had a night out with my sister. We went to the movies to see Gatsby. It was a fantastic movie, I adore Leonardo Dicaprio, and he certainly didn’t disappoint, either did spider man (what’s that actor’s name again?). Although it was great to get out of the house for a bit, and not worry about organising a baby sitter, it was a late night and I just didn’t have the time or energy to make lunches last night, or to do the proper pre bed pick up.

Then of course I slept in this morning. So lunch orders for lunch today, and an explanation to my children that yummy drummys are not real food. No you can’t order it. I don’t care that Rebecca gets them every Friday. Note to self- show kids the Jamie Oliver episode where he makes the chicken nuggets, ewww.

Today I had a friend coming for coffee, it’s one of the mum’s from school who I get along really well with but I don’t know her particularly well. In these situations, I like the house to look clean and orderly. I have friends that can come over and I’ll have 10 baskets of laundry waiting to be folded and put away, toys everywhere, but today was not one of those people. So, I managed to get hubby to drop kids off to school for me while I did a frantic clean up.  It started with the couches, I had two baskets of clothes to be folded, that thanks to my son looking for his sports socks, looked like they had vomited clothes all over the floor. Note to self- throttle son.

Then I did the kitchen clean up, empty and load the dishwasher, take rubbish out. Note to self- use bags without holes next time. Clean mess from rubbish bag. Run (literally) around living room, straightening couches, putting away toys. Close bedroom doors.  Plug in electric oil vaporizer to freshen up the house. Run from one end of the house to the other looking for my lavender oil. Where is it dammit?! Can’t find lavender, find May Chang, use that instead

Go to bathroom. How my kids manage to get toothpaste EVERYWHERE is beyond me. On the shower screen, the mirror, the floor, the basin and the vanity. Use dirty towel to wipe down bathroom. Clean toilet. Realise I left the vacuum cleaner in the entrance, put that away. Cut slices of homemade orange cake (recipe below) onto pretty plate. Choke on the smell of May Chang. Turn off vaporizer.

Hope that friend knows that when you say to come at 9.30 you really mean 9.45.

Look at floor and realize it’s filthy, use dirty towel to spot clean, realize it’s futile and give up at 9.28.

Move kids play car out of centre of kitchen. Clean up half eaten apple and give to Miss O to eat again.

9.45 door bell rings. This friend is a keeper.

I realized last night before the movie that I had no home baked lunchbox treats and no back up store bought biscuits either, so while kids were setting the table last night, I quickly whipped up this orange cake. I had plenty to use for this morning’s morning tea too. The original recipe can be found here http://www.kidspot.com.au/best-recipes/Cakes-&-Baking+20/Orange-cake-recipe+1488.htm

I only made a few tiny changes, like using natvia instead of sugar and reducing the quantity, and adding chia seeds to increase the nutrition. Here is the recipe;

orange cake

Quick and Easy Orange Cake Recipe

125g softened butter

3/4 cup natvia

2 cups self raising flour (can use gluten free substitute if necessary)

zest and juice of 1 large orange

1/4 cup crushed chia seeds

2 tbs linseeds (I had golden linseeds so you can’t even see them in the cake)

3 eggs

1/3 cup milk

2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and bake for 30 mins or until cooked through, oven 180’C

I topped with a quick orange butter icing (icing sugar, orange zest and juice-just a little bit, butter and a bit of boiled water)

Enjoy x

Leave a Reply

