Just another manic monday…

tawny scrawny lionm

The Bangles weren’t kidding when they said Monday’s are manic! On Monday, I try to get on top of things so that the rest of the week runs smoothly. I do my grocery shopping and then plan my meals around what was on special and fresh. We are off to my sister’s house for dinner tonight for my nephew (and Godson) birthday, so while I don’t need to cook dinner, it’s always handy having soup in the fridge for lunch and after school snacks, served with cheesy toast. Today, the soup of the day is carrot soup <>

When my kids were little I would read them The Tawny Scrawny Lion golden book. It’s about a lion who is always hunting the other animals until a little rabbit fattens him up with carrot stew. I’ve pulled it out so that I can read it to the kids after school, even though they are getting so big now, they still love it when we read them stories. ūüôā

Carrot and Ginger Soup

carrot soup2

1 large sweet potato

5 or 6 large carrots

4 cloves of garlic

1 piece of fresh ginger (around the size of 2 garlic cloves)

plus I had a tiny piece of celery in the fridge so I used that too

knob of butter or splash of olive oil (vegan)

 

Heat your oil or butter, add in chopped garlic, ginger and celery

Sauté for a few minutes until aromatic

Add diced carrots and sweet potato

Add water or stock (I had some frozen¬†vegetable stock from when I cleaned out my fridge recently – throw all the ‘dead’ veg into a pot of water, reduce down and you have beautiful homemade veg stock, perfect for soups, stews or pasta¬†sauces!)

Bring to the boil, then reduce heat and simmer until carrots and potato are cooked. Puree and enjoy! I have added some toasted seeds and homemade chilli sauce to mine too. Ooooooh yeah!

2 thoughts on “Just another manic monday…

Leave a Reply

