To thermomix or not?

It’s the talk of the town at the moment. Women are swooning over the site of them. Good cooks are convinced they need one. Terrible cooks are convinced they can whip up a gourmet meal in minutes. I’m talking about the thermomix. It does a gazillion things, quickly, without any effort on your behalf, BUT is it just a trend? A passing phase? Are we convinced it’s amazing because of it’s hefty price tag? < >

I’m in the market for a new food processor, mine is on its last legs,Β so, of course I looked into the thermomix. I love how powerful the motor is. It makes easy work of nut butters and flour milling apparently. I’m all sold on the food processing side, it’s the thermo cooking I don’t get. I mean, I know it makes risotto beautifully, but hubby HATES risotto, so in the 13 years we’ve been married, I think I may have cooked it twice. Curry is another favourite selling point. It makes amazing curry! Honestly, my kids don’t eat curry, hubby and I aren’t huge fans either, so there goes that selling point too. I’ve seen friends post on facebook all about the recipes they’ve whipped up in their TM, but I don’t understand why it is so difficult to make these things without one? Has TM invented NEW recipes? Things that cannot be made without it? For all you TM owners, what can you make in a TM that I couldn’t make without it?

And then I read somewhere how easy porridge was to make in it…

I stopped dead in my tracks and started checking my bank balance. I am not, in any way, shape or form, a morning person. I move slowly and angrily in the morning. My girls like porridge but I never seem to get into the kitchen early enough to make it. We do not own a microwave and I buy rolled oats, not instant oats, so it takes a good 10 mins to make, add on cooling time and eating time, it adds up to 40 mins!! If I could set the TM to make my porridge and have it sit there until the girls were ready to eat it…. well, that would be good. Then I think, $2000 to make me porridge?? I’ll suck it up and get up 5 mins earlier!

So come on, hit me with your opinion. To buy, or not to buy? To buy a cheaper (inferior?) model? Ditch the idea altogether and just replace my food processor?? What do you think?

6 thoughts on “To thermomix or not?

  1. Yes it can’t make anything you can’t make some other way. But it can make many things with much less effort and better. (well I can’t make hollandaise sauce like the TM can).
    It is hard to get your head around the cost. But think of your oven – probably a similar price tag. Can you live without it, well yes, though you’d have to buy baked goods. Would you want to live without it, no.
    That’s how I feel about the thermomix.
    Today I used it for whipping up a batch of cheese and zucchini muffin mix – yep could do in a food processor. But quicker and much easier to clean up afterwards by using the TM – so probably 10 mins saved.
    Tonight we had takeaway curry (due to the chicken I’d defrosted not being edible, grrr) and I cooked the rice in the tmx – I love tmx rice!! So easy. Water in bowl, rinse the rice in the basket, pop in 16 mins. Yes I could have used the tupperware microwave rice cooker (which I do still use if I have something cooking in the tmx) or done it on the stove top, but it’s quicker and easier in tmx (cooking wise and cleaning up after wise; easier to rinse, no standing over checking temperature on the stove, easier to clean after).

    Personally I think it’s worth the money, I do also think it’s a bit overpriced but I’d say go the thermomix.

    • Thanks for taking the time to respond πŸ™‚ I think I need to get to a demo and see one in ‘real life’ actually doing its thing. I have said a few times that a great business would be hiring out a TM for a week. I’d pay for that, just so I could see how it would help me with my everyday cooking!

  2. I love my thermomix too. I think it’s not totally necessary but it sure makes things easy. I especially love making curries in 20 minutes, custard in 7, and pizza dough in 4. I love making things from scratch and the thermomix makes it so quick and easy. I could live without it – but I really wouldn’t want to. And if mine died tomorrow – I’d definitely be replacing it!

    • Thanks for your thoughts Kelly πŸ™‚
      I hear so many people say the same thing about their TM. I bought a very good food processor recently, because, as much as I’d like one, I just couldn’t justify the cost right now, but I am certainly not ruling out one for the future! I still see some amazing things come out of them that would be a lot of fuss to make if you didn’t have a TM!

  3. Hi, just caught this TM vibe around too. Maybe I’ve left it long enough to miss the wave. Is it best to get great machines that do specific tasks excellently or one that does many tasks very well? Also have you considered a ThermoChef? Same power/RPM, same warranty time , but around $700? Do you know what difference/s that extra $1200 buys?

    • Hi Jenny, sorry, I just came across your comment! I’m still not sure about TM! A friend had a thermochef and had a lot of trouble with it, so forked out the extra cash for a TM and she loves it. I ended up replacing my food processor with a good one, same power in the motor but it only cost me $250. What I have decided is that I want a fp to be able to slice and grate, not just chop. But also, I have a kenwood mixmaster and it does doughs and batters beautifully, so apart from the cooking side of things, I think I am covered. Oh, and now my kids are that teeny bit older, they cook their own breakfast πŸ˜‰ Eggs or porridge are on the menu almost daily and they cook it themselves!! Woot woot!

Leave a Reply

