Sausage rolls and carrot cake

I’ve noticed lately that my kids seem to be given a lot of lollies and chocolates at school. They won table points, here’s a lollipop. It’s someone’s birthday, here’s a freddo. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not completely opposed to sugar, I just try to limit how much my kids eat it, and also, make sure that if they are having treats, that they are perhaps home cooked cake or a reasonable quality chocolate. Yesterday my kids had a market day at school, and although I asked them not to buy too much junk food, of course, they loaded up on toffees, smarties, mixed lollies and cakes. I probably would have done the same at their age.

Obviously it’s Friday today, and that traditionally means movie night and an easy dinner. Maybe take away or pot of soup. After yesterday, I wasn’t too keen on getting take out tonight, so whipped up a big batch of chicken and vegetable sausage rolls and a lovely low sugar carrot cake. I will mention here that lately I have been trying to limit my wheat intake. More and more I’m finding it doesn’t agree with me. So I altered the recipes so that they are low wheat and low sugar, if you don’t have the ingredients on hand, feel free to substitute conventional ingredients. I have noted where that would be suitable. my recipes are all fairly approximate, so if you need exact measurements, google is a good place to go 😉

Chicken and vegetable sausage rolls

For our family of 6, this will allow for plenty of leftovers for the weekend or to pop in the freezer for another day.

1 pack of 6 sheets puff pastry

1 kg chicken mince

3-4 slices of bread toasted and cooled, I used spelt to keep this low in wheat

2 eggs

a good sprinkle of seeds; I used linseeds and chia seeds. You could use an LSA mix here or whatever you have on hand

Worcestershire Sauce

3 cloves garlic

1 sm/med onion

Whatever veg you have; I used a few mushroom, a medium zucchini, 2 smallish carrots, a small slice of pumpkin, a couple of silverbeet leaves

Salt and Pepper

-> Blend the toast into breadcrumbs, set aside

Put all the vegetables into the food processor and process until paste like,

Add the eggs and mix again

In a bowl mix the vegetable paste, breadcrumbs, seeds and chicken until properly combined. The mixture should not be too sloppy or the sausage rolls will be too wet when cooking. Add more breadcrumbs if necessary, or if not following a low wheat diet, crush in a couple of wheat bix

Sprinkle the Worcestershire sauce over the mix to give it that smokey flavor. Note that Worcestershire sauce contains anchovies, so be careful if anyone has fish allergies (I learnt that the hard way!) If that is the case squirt in some barbeque sauce instead

Cut each sheet of puff pastry in half and scoop the chicken mix onto the pastry in a log shape. Roll the pastry around the mixture and put on a lined baking tray. Repeat with remainder of mixture and pastry

Bake in a moderate oven until the pastry is golden brown. Once cooled slightly, slice into the desired length and serve with tomato sauce.
sausage roll

sausage roll

Carrot Cake

I was searching for a low sugar and low wheat option here, and found this recipe http://www.eatright.org/kids/recipe.aspx?id=6442462611 I bought some coconut sugar today and wanted to try it out. I’ve never used it before but had heard it’s a good alternative to refined sugar. I also bought some buckwheat flour, which is not actually related to the wheat grain. So again, to make a low wheat cake I substituted this flour into the recipe also. Here is the recipe I came up with. The cake is not very sweet, so it would be great for toddlers. For my kids, it needs a bit of icing if I have any hope of them eating it, so I will be adding a cream cheese icing (cream cheese, icing sugar and lemon juice).

1 cup plain flour

1 cup buckwheat flour

1 tsp bicarb soda

1 tsp baking powder
a good sprinkle of cinnamon
a good sprinkle of nutmeg
1/2 cup coconut sugar (I would increase this to 3/4 cup next time to make it a bit sweeter)
2 carrots grated
2 eggs
1/4 cup combination of linseeds and chia seeds
juice of 1 large orange
1/2 cup applesauce (this replaces butter, so if you don’t have any, just use 1/2 cup butter)
1/2 cup chopped medjool dates (remove pips, optional)
1 cup milk

Put all ingredients in a bowl and mix. Bake in moderate oven for around 20 mins or until cooked through (check with skewer)

carrot cake
carrot cake

I hope you all have a great weekend!

One thought on “Sausage rolls and carrot cake

  1. Pingback: My kids don’t like school lunches part 2 | kids recipes and organised chaos

Leave a Reply

