Tuna marinade and more chocolate brownies

I know it’s been ages since I’ve blogged. Mainly because nothing particularly exciting has been happening, and partly because I was feeling exceptionally lazy. It’s a gift I have of avoiding everything I should be doing, and doing a whole lot of everything else!

Tell me I’m not alone in this gift?!

Tonight I made tuna steaks for dinner. We have been trying to eat fish at least once a week, which sounds easier than it is. We don’t really have many fish shops near us, and every time I buy fish from the supermarket I regret it instantly, as most of it ends up in the bin.

This tuna I had was beautiful. It was fresh and silky smooth.  I served it with a side salad and a very quick fried rice made up from left over steamed rice and a couple of veggies from the fridge. But I’m here to talk about the tuna, so don’t worry about the rice ;) If you are after an easy fried rice recipe check out this one.

The following recipe was enough for 2-3 tuna steaks, and I imagine it would work well on most types of fish, chicken or even red meats (lamb or beef)

Tuna Marinade

1 tbs balsamic vinegar

1 tbs olive oil

1 tbs chopped fresh oregano

1 tbs chopped fresh rosemary

1-2 cloves chopped/crushed garlic

salt and pepper to taste

Mix the ingredients in a bowl, coat the tuna in the mixture.

I only marinated my fish for about 20 mins, but I’m sure if you had the time for a couple of hours, it would be lovely.

tuna steaks

Most of you know that I am quite partial to a brownie. Majority of my baking is for kids lunchboxes. So, usually at 9pm when I am packing lunches and searching for snacks to put in, I realize I am out of cookies, crackers, cake etc (yes I know that doesn’t sound at all healthy…) anyway, at 9pm I do not want anything complicated. I don’t want to cream these together, then slowly add that, while alternating these. You get my drift. I want- put all ingredients in a bowl mix, bake.

So, while this has a couple more steps in it, it is still very simple. I used my chocolate chia brownie recipe as a base, but made this wheat free by using spelt flour, and changed a few things around…

Wheat free Chocolate brownie

1/2 cup cocoa

200g butter

1 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 cup spelt flour

1/4 cup pepita meal

6 pitted dates chopped small

In a small saucepan, add butter and cocoa. Melt butter and mix the two together.

In a bowl, add remaining ingredients and mix together

Add the cocoa/butter mix, and stir to combine.

Bake in a lined brownie tin 180’C for 20-30minutes or until cooked to your liking.

Notes:

This freezes well.

Coconut oil can be used instead of butter for a dairy free option.

Wheat flour can be used instead of spelt flour if you prefer.

Pepitas (pumpkin seeds) add protein to this brownie and a nice little crunch if you leave them whole. I prefer grinding them into a meal (I just put pepitas in my blender and this did the job), as my kids don’t like the texture of nuts/seeds in the brownies. Also, they could easily be omitted, left whole or substitute in almond meal if you prefer

chocolate spelt brownie

I hope you are all well, and I look forward to blabbering on to you all regularly again!

Cheers,

Marianne xx

Leave a Reply

