Gluten free, dairy free melt in your mouth choc chip cookies

Many years ago I made cookies using chickpeas. The kids liked them, but I stopped making them and promptly forgot all about the recipe until recently when a friend told me about a delicious cookie recipe she found with chickpeas and peanut butter.  I looked up the recipe and thought I’d share it, as they really are melt in your mouth delicious – even better than the ones I used to make from memory (although now I want to find the recipe to compare it!). Because our school has a nut free policy, I subbed tahini into the recipe instead. You can find the original recipe here. My daughter loved these, as do I. My son, who thoroughly dislikes peanut butter thought these were still too nutty, even using the tahini. Tahini, which is made with sesame seeds is high in calcium, which great if you or your child can’t tolerate dairy. Chickpeas are a rich source of protein, so, combining these two ingredients, we pretty much have a healthy cookie! Right? Right. *dusts crumbs from mouth*

choc cookies

Here’s the recipe as I made it :)

1 tin chickpeas (if you are cooking your own, it was a little less than 1,1/2 cups)

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup tahini (or nut/seed butter of your choice)

1/4 cup maple syrup (can use honey also)

1tsp baking powder

1/2 cup dark choc chips

Method:
Place all ingredients, except choc chips, into food processor and blend until smooth.
Stir in choc chips.
Dollop onto baking tray and bake at 180′C for around 12 mins until lightly browned. Allow to cool slightly before removing from the tray
Don’t sit next to the batch while you are hungry or you may find that the whole lot disappears a little bit too quickly!choc chip cookies2
Read more about chickpea nutrition here Read more about tahini nutrition here
Some cookies may have been harmed in the writing of this blog post. ;)
6 thoughts on “Gluten free, dairy free melt in your mouth choc chip cookies

  1. Fab! We will be trying these next week! Perfect for me with a daughter who has an egg allergy (she is growing out of it but still likes to dive her hands in the bowl when there is raw egg in there! Not good!) and a wheat intolerance. I will let you know how I go.

    • My kids don’t have intolerances, but I always seem to get the baking urge when I’m out of eggs! What is with that?! Let me know if she enjoys them :D

    • They were! All gone now… but they were so quick, I think I’ll be making another batch this week!

  2. Pingback: Back to School – Recipe Round up | kids recipes and organised chaos

Leave a Reply

